What I learnt since starting work

It’s nearly 2 years now since I started work. And boy, what a ride it has been. I’ve learnt so much and thought that I should pen them down. For my future self.

Loving what you do is super important

After working for a while, the job gets a little bit mundane. Having to drag oneself out of bed every morning is never easy. I can’t phantom how it’d feel like if I hate my job. It must be very depressing! I count myself lucky that while I dread the THOUGHT of having to do work, I actually love every moment while I’m doing it. And it makes waking up in the morning less arduous (but still, never easy).

Make yourself indispensable

I like to reflect on what sets me apart from any other colleague, in order for me to stay relevant for the company. And I feel like I’ve fulfilled a satisfactory performance thus far in initiating projects (and along the way, being more experienced in certain aspects). It feels good to know that your efforts are appreciated, that your contributions made a difference and that you stand out from the rest.

Treat all your colleagues like how you’d like to be treated

Which means, avoid drama at all costs. I gotta say, I’m still guilty of this from time to time. But I’ve been trying my hardest to stop when I catch myself talking about someone else. With work, the line between gossip and discussion becomes blurred. It ain’t as straightforward as black vs white, I’m afraid.

Be open to criticism, but learn to protect yourself

There will always be space for improvement. And receiving criticisms never feel good. But I learnt to be more open to them because at least I know what I have to improve on. However, if the criticism isn’t doing me justice, I’ve learnt to stand up for myself and still be cordial about it.

Never stop learning

In my line of work, there’s never idling time. When you’re “free”, you hit the books to further your knowledge. It’s funny how you’ve read a chapter before but you always have something new to take away from it every time you revisit it.

I need to…

Till date, I’ve been taking each day as it comes. The only marker I have is when a project is successfully completed or the time I’ve been employed. I want to work towards have a clearer idea of my career progression and where I’d like to be at 1, 2 and 5 years from now.

 

 

One thought on “What I learnt since starting work

  1. Createwealth8888 says:

    Quote : Make yourself indispensable?

    This is an illusion! 🙂

    In your office; no one is indispensable. Don’t believe me. Try going for six months leave; when you come back; some of your previous job role may be taken away permanently by someone else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

