My Whole Life Policy

Sequel to one of my very initial posts here. See why I have a whole life policy – hint: not my idea.

Just received the annual bonus letter from the insurance company. So for the sake of sharing, here you go.

  • Entry year: 2006
  • Entry age: 13
  • Sum assured: $100K
  • Yearly premium amount: $1,290
  • Premium paid till date: $15,480
  • Projected bonus (based on 5.25% return): $15,070
  • Actual accumulated bonus: $17,280
  • Actual surrender value: $16,940

Broke even 2 years earlier than anticipated as per the projection in the insurance document. Lucky me?

(I love House btw)

Leave a Reply

